Lionel Messi has received his eighth "Ballon d'Or" award for the Best Men's Player of the Year.

The years listed are 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, and now 2023.

Lionel Messi won the men's Ballon d'Or for a record eighth time on Monday after fulfilling his lifelong ambition by leading Argentina to the World Cup title in Qatar last year.

Adding the lone major trophy that had eluded him in his legendary career proved to be the deciding factor in a rather ordinary season by his standards with Paris Saint-Germain.

The 36-year-old Messi edged out Manchester City forward Erling Haaland and his former PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe.

Messi thanked his Argentine coach, teammates, and staff for making his victory possible.

"I'm enjoying myself tonight. It's a joy that will never leave me, and I hope to enjoy it for many more years," Messi said through a translator. "To be a world champion is a title we were missing. I would like to thank everyone who helped Argentina become a world champion."

Read More: Messi's World Cup win may finally make him the GOAT

Messi also paid tribute to the late Diego Maradona, who also helped Argentina win the World Cup in 1986.

"This title and this trophy, I share them with you and all our Argentine compatriots," Messi said.

Aitana Bonmati received the women's award for leading Spain to victory at the Women's World Cup in August. She also helped Barcelona win the Women's Champions League and the Spanish league.

A year after not making the shortlist for the 2022 Ballon d'Or and despite leaving top-tier European football behind, Messi reclaimed the crown.

He won the sport's most prestigious individual prize thanks to his stellar World Cup performance. In Qatar, Messi scored 10 goals for Argentina, netting seven and providing three assists. He scored twice in the final against France.

His final season with PSG was less illustrious. While PSG won a record 11th French league title, it was knocked out of the Champions League in the round of 16 again.

No one else has won more than five Ballon d'Or trophies. Cristiano Ronaldo has five, while Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff, and Marco van Basten each won it three times.

After moving to Inter Miami in the United States, Messi had already won his first trophy there, inspiring the team to victory in the U.S. League Cup.

Messi's latest victory marked the first time an MLS player has received such recognition. Messi was presented with the trophy by former Manchester United star David Beckham, who is one of the owners of his new club.

"I'm very happy with the decisions I've made, and with the fact that I'm playing in Miami," Messi said.

He succeeded Karim Benzema.

Mbappe had hoped another Frenchman could win the Ballon d'Or after he scored a hat-trick in the World Cup final, although France lost in a penalty shootout.